Te Kahukura Boynton – The Curve

Get in quick for The Money Reset course. Limited seats available, Intake Closes July 31st.

Te Kahukura Boynton

18 years old | Hamilton

What is your name, age and where are you living?

Te Kahukura Boynton. 18 years old. Hamilton.

How do you make money?

I work 9 hours a week in a law firm, as a Law Clerk. Outside of this I run a Blog and Podcast which acts as my ‘side hustle’.

What is your relationship with money like?

I have a really positive relationship with money. I love saving money, investing money and the safe mindset of ‘having’ money. Growing up, we didn’t have much money so I guess I had a strong desire to make money as I grew up.

Why are you passionate about educating when it comes to all things money?

Money is able to change your life. Money is a resource and it can totally change the outcome of situations. Money is one of the biggest reasons for divorce, domestic violence, crime, and more! So, by educating Māori about money - we could be well on the way to changing the negative stereotypes we currently hold.

Why do you think we’re embarrassed talking about money?

Talking about money is uncomfortable for most cultures I think but in indigenous communities more so I think. Māori especially have a belief that talking about money is ‘whakahīhī’ (cocky). Evolving our cultural beliefs to do what’s best for us and our whānau I think is what can solve this. The more we talk, the more we can grow.

Why do you think there is such a wealth disparity in NZ? 

Money allows money to grow and so does time. The wealthy in New Zealand know this and are able to use this to their advantage and therefore grow their wealth even more. Alongside this, the poor don’t understand these concepts and are left living paycheck to paycheck each week with no real change in sight.

What has your own personal journey with finances been like?

I’ve always loved money and the things it can purchase. I read ‘Rich Dad Poor Dad’ when I was 8 years old. I’m not sure how much I actually understood but I did get this: money grows. My first attempt at growing money was when I started a clothing label at 14 which totally failed! I’m only 18 so I’m still on my own personal finance journey but I can see it growing and improving as the years come. My current financial goal is to buy my first home soon after graduating uni.

What does financial freedom mean or look like to you?

Financial freedom to me is a simple equation of passive income > expenses. This gives me time and choice freedom to live life however I wish.

What's one money goal you have right now?

Entering the property market!

What's one money tip you've learned and found hugely helpful?

Time in the market > timing the market
Live below your means
Money grows
Your network is your net worth

Have you invested in anything lately that you're excited about?

I dollar cost average in to the S&P500 every week so it’s not very exciting but it is proven to be effective long term.

What do you like most about being a part of the Curve community?

Female led community which is fabulous!!

What do you feel like is the biggest thing you’ve learnt from The Curve?

The possibilities are endless when you start a community of like minded individuals.


Take control of your future by learning how to be better with your money. Join the thousands of women in The Curve community who are dedicated to building their knowledge and their wealth through investing.